arrow-right cart chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up close menu minus play plus search share user email pinterest facebook instagram snapchat tumblr twitter vimeo youtube subscribe dogecoin dwolla forbrugsforeningen litecoin amazon_payments american_express bitcoin cirrus discover fancy interac jcb master paypal stripe visa diners_club dankort maestro trash
FN404 Able Tasmans - Songs From The Departure Lounge (1998)
Regular price

FN404 Able Tasmans - Songs From The Departure Lounge (1998)

Unit price per


For over a decade, the Able Tasmans were one of the most-loved New Zealand bands around. While that love never translated into the commercial success sometimes associated with this level of adoration, their fans knew why they made music and responded accordingly. Able Tasmans fans will be delighted with Songs From The Departure Lounge - a generous 20 track selection that picks out the best of their Flying Nun recordings with a couple of never-heard-before rarities thrown in for good measure...

This album is a ticket to the Ables' world of baroque-and-roll adorned with rich melodies and huge, warm arrangements. It features some of the greatest songs ever written - tracks like "What Was That Thing", "Hold Me 1", "Shape Of Dolls", as well as "Michael Fay" - alongside those selected by the band as their more modest but highly significant musical achievements from the four albums, two EPs and a single they released.


Artist:Able Tasmans
Title: Songs From The Departure Lounge
Label:Flying Nun Records
Year: 1998
Cat #: FN404
Formats: Digital
Recorded:‚Tracks 1,2 released on the 'A Cuppa Tea And A Lie Down' LP (FN075/1987). Track 3 released on the 'Able Tasmans / Raucous Laughter' 7' Single (FN063/1986). Track 4, Unreleased.Tracks 5-11 released on 'Hey Spinner' LP (FN162/1990). Tracks 12 - 15 released on 'Somebody Ate My Planet' CD (FNCD233/1992). Tracks 16, 17 released on 'The Shape Of Dolls' EP (FNCD280/1993). Tracks 8 - 21 released on 'Store In A Cool Place' LP (FN312/1995).‚

Band Members: Leslie Jonkers, Graeme Humphreys, Craig Mason, Peter Keen and Jane Dodd

Track List:

  1. What Was That Thing?
  2. Sour Queen
  3. Buffalos
  4. Michaels
  5. Hold Me 1
  6. Grey Lynn
  7. Dileen
  8. Michael Fay
  9. Angry Martyr
  10. The Theory of Continual Disappointed
  11. Fault In The Frog
  12. The Cliff
  13. School Is No Good For You
  14. Not Fair
  15. Coming Up For Air
  16. The Shape Of Dolls
  17. That's Why
  18. Dog Whelk
  19. Mary Tyler Moore
  20. My Name Is Peter Keen

Net Orders Checkout

Item Price Qty Total
Subtotal $0.00

Shipping Address

Shipping Methods