arrow-right cart chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up close menu minus play plus search share user email pinterest facebook instagram snapchat tumblr twitter vimeo youtube subscribe dogecoin dwolla forbrugsforeningen litecoin amazon_payments american_express bitcoin cirrus discover fancy interac jcb master paypal stripe visa diners_club dankort maestro trash
Phoenix - Bankrupt
Regular price

Phoenix - Bankrupt

Unit price per
Bankrupt! is the incredible follow up to 2009’s critically lauded Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix, which won the band the Grammy for Best Alternative Album, and has since been certified Gold. It is not a political or financial statement. It does not offer solutions to the world's great problems or suggest excitement over insolvency. 

It sounds almost nothing like old Phoenix albums. It was made by the same people who made those albums, but they may not be playing the same instruments. These people are: Thomas Mars, Laurent 'Branco' Brancowitz, Christian Mazzalai, Deck d'Arcy. 

Bankrupt! was written and recorded in New York City, New York and Paris, France. The 10-song set was produced by the band and Philippe Zdar in Montmartre. It is not disposable popular music, though the songs are quite pleasurable on first listen, subsequent listenings will produce deeper engagement and satisfaction. This is intentional.

"This album has more layers," explains Brancowitz. "The more you listen, the more you hear, and the more you really understand what's going on. At the same time, we wanted it to be really fluid and simple like a sphere made of marble. You just see a sphere, but there's a guy who polished it for a year." 180g vinyl with download from Glassnote Records.


1.  Entertainment
2.  The Real Thing
3.  S.O.S. In Bel Air
4.  Trying To Be Cool
5.  Bankrupt!
6.  Drakkar Noir
7.  Chloroform
8.  Don't
9.  Bourgeois
10. Oblique City


Release Date:  19 April 2013

Net Orders Checkout

Item Price Qty Total
Subtotal $0.00

Shipping Address

Shipping Methods