arrow-right cart chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up close menu minus play plus search share user email pinterest facebook instagram snapchat tumblr twitter vimeo youtube subscribe dogecoin dwolla forbrugsforeningen litecoin amazon_payments american_express bitcoin cirrus discover fancy interac jcb master paypal stripe visa diners_club dankort maestro trash
The Free Design – Heaven / Earth
Regular price

The Free Design – Heaven / Earth

Unit price per
Heaven/Earth was released in 1969, and for the most part continues the soft, psychedelic pop of the first two records.
“You Be You and I’ll Be Me” spices up a typically elaborate vocal arrangement with an uptempo, percussive rock groove and a horn chart similar to concurrent Blood, Sweat & Tears or Chicago. However, the surprisingly cynical “2002: A Hit Song” provides the most spark on the record, suggesting that The Free Design weren’t satisfied with their niche market. The singers outline a brief formula for a chart-topper (directed to the “teenyboppers”), only to admit in frustration,
“We did all this last time, and it did not work.” Elsewhere, the funky jazz take on George Gershwin’s “Summertime” offers evidence that the band were willing to step out of the mold they’d crafted for themselves. The reissue includes both sides of a solo single by Ellen Dedrick and several tracks featuring the band as backing singers for a 1968 LP by future music-mogul Tommy Mottola. — Dominique Leone , June 28, 2004

Essential for fans of Stereolab, who draw much of their inspiration from The Free Design. I mean, they named an EP after them for crying out loud!!!!
A1 My Very Own Angel
A2 Now Is The Time
A3 If I Were A Carpenter
A4 You Be You And I'll Be Me
A5 Girls Alone
A6 2002 - A Hit Song
B1 Summertime
B2 Where Do I Go
B3 Hurry Sundown
B4 Memories
B5 Dorian Benediction


Net Orders Checkout

Item Price Qty Total
Subtotal $0.00

Shipping Address

Shipping Methods