arrow-right cart chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up close menu minus play plus search share user email pinterest facebook instagram snapchat tumblr twitter vimeo youtube subscribe dogecoin dwolla forbrugsforeningen litecoin amazon_payments american_express bitcoin cirrus discover fancy interac jcb master paypal stripe visa diners_club dankort maestro trash
The Phoenix Foundation - Buffalo
Regular price

The Phoenix Foundation - Buffalo

Unit price per

The 26th April 2020 marks a decade since “Buffalo” was born. Featuring a number of the group’s most enduring songs, from the gently psychedelic drift of opener “Eventually”, the idiosyncratic title track (once covered by Lorde, pop pickers!), the sugar-sweet “Flock Of Hearts”, pidgin-German “Bitte Bitte” to the soaring melancholy swell of closing tracks “Wonton” and “Golden Ship”.

To celebrate the release, it is being made available in a limited edition of 250 ocean blue-coloured vinyl LPs, available for pre-order from 26 th of April, with a release date of 5th June. While preparing for this reissue the band discovered a vault with a missing herd of Buffalo’s Children; 7 previously unreleased tracks released weekly until 5th June.

The album took the band on quite a journey. In 2013, the group were invited onto restigious UK music show “Later with Jools Holland”, where they performed “Buffalo” and “Flock Of Hearts”, exposing them to a whole new audience, and saw their global audience grow exponentially. It features guest appearances from fellow musical travellers Connan Mockasin and Lawrence Arabia, and handsome cover art (that won that year’s Vodafone Music Award for best sleeve design) by regular designer Paul Johnson.

Last year it was voted 9 th in Radio New Zealand’s list of the best local albums of the 2000’s – a testament to its enduring appeal.

The first new track out now is “Danzig Bro”, an almost entire live take as it happened in the studio. A mesmerising half-finished dirge that is somehow a gentle, krautified distillation of one TPF’s secret loves; the music of Glen Danzig.

Track Listing

  1. Eventually
  2. Buffalo
  3. Flock of Hearts
  4. Pot
  5. Bitte Bitte
  6. Skeleton
  7. Orange & Mango
  8. Bailey's Beach
  9. Wonton
  10. Golden Ship

Net Orders Checkout

Item Price Qty Total
Subtotal $0.00

Shipping Address

Shipping Methods