arrow-right cart chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up close menu minus play plus search share user email pinterest facebook instagram snapchat tumblr twitter vimeo youtube subscribe dogecoin dwolla forbrugsforeningen litecoin amazon_payments american_express bitcoin cirrus discover fancy interac jcb master paypal stripe visa diners_club dankort maestro trash
The Stooges - Fun House
Regular price

The Stooges - Fun House

Unit price per

This is what rock n roll is all about! While the Stooges' excellent debut, produced by John Cale, had a clean, punchy sound that introduced the band's ragged, stripped-down rock, it did not capture the chaotic fury of the band's live spirit. The Stooges hired Don Gallucci (formerly of the Kingsmen) to produce Fun House, and he gave the album a murky, swampy ambience that lacks clarity and precision, yet compensates for that lack tenfold with immediacy and a staggering sonic punch in the gut. And where the Stooges can sound like bratty teenaged music, this album sounds grown up, menacing, mercurial, dark, and relentlessly primal. The muddied production may add to the primitivism, but it is the band that truly conjures the magic.

The Stooges plays like unleashed banshees here: Ron Ashton's razory guitar riffs and swirling squall create clouds of noise while the brutal rhythms of bassist Dave Alexander and drummer Scott Ashton crash all over the place. Iggy Pop screams and howls like a man possessed, giving voice to a spirit that would find its final expression in the punk movement seven years later. From the panther-like strut of "Down on the Street" to the adrenaline-driven "TV Eye" through the caustic dirge of "Dirt" to the avant squall of "L.A. Blues" (complete with wailing air-raid saxophone from Steve MacKay), this set is one of the founding documents of alternative rock. And, like Pandora's box, once Fun House is opened there is no turning back.


A1 Down On The Street 
A2 Loose
A3 T.V. Eye 
A4 Dirt

B1 1970
B2 Fun House 
B3 L.A. Blues 

C1 T.V. Eye (Takes 7 & 8) 
C2 Loose (Take 2) 
C3 Down On The Street (Take 8) 
C4 Dirt (Take 4) 

D1 Lost In The Future (Take 1)
D2 1970 (Take 3)
D3 Fun House (Take 2)


Release Year (Reissue): 2005 

Originally released in  7 July 1970

Net Orders Checkout

Item Price Qty Total
Subtotal $0.00

Shipping Address

Shipping Methods