arrow-right cart chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up close menu minus play plus search share user email pinterest facebook instagram snapchat tumblr twitter vimeo youtube subscribe dogecoin dwolla forbrugsforeningen litecoin amazon_payments american_express bitcoin cirrus discover fancy interac jcb master paypal stripe visa diners_club dankort maestro trash
Various Artists - Sowas Von Egal 2: German Synth Wave Underground 1981-1984
Regular price

Various Artists - Sowas Von Egal 2: German Synth Wave Underground 1981-1984

Unit price per

Two years have passed since Bureau B released the first Sowas Von Egal compilation in 2018. With the musical movement or genre known as NDW celebrating its 40th anniversary, what better time than now to launch an ambitious successor to the first sampler. The beating heart of this endeavor is once again invigorated by the synchronous passions of bespoke Hamburg label Bureau B and the label's Damaged Goods nights where they present rare, obscure synth and wave discs from the early 1980s. It was clear from the outset that Sowas Von Egal 2 would need to scale similar heights of excellence as its predecessor, featuring carefully selected, sought-after, danceable tunes. Bureau B began by compiling a pool of potential tracks, a creative process of lively discussion in the spirit of "open-mindedness" which culminated in a list of priority targets. After research and rich encounters with input from musicians, friends, and acquaintances, Bureau B revised their target list several times over -- some artists simply could not be found, a few had actually passed away. There were also some who were determined not to revisit their own musical history and asked the label to leave out their songs. Some tracks are so rare that they do not even appear on YouTube. Bureau B have picked up the rights to release them. In contrast to the first volume, most of the acts on Sowas Von Egal 2 were only active in the early 1980s and have not released any records since then. The tape artists were particularly invested in the DIY ethic -- as is often apparent in their sound aesthetics and the unbridled energy which has lost none of its intensity today. Their art was seldom -- if ever -- tempered by commercial considerations or sales strategies. The photograph on the cover beautifully captures the paradoxical tensions which pervaded the atmosphere of the early Eighties: new beginnings, renewal, protest and self-empowerment on one side, frustration, hedonism, future anxiety, and destructive rage on the other. The DIY spirit ingrained in the music and attitude of the bands and artists gathered here is also brought into focus, whilst simultaneously establishing a connection to Hamburg. 


1. Die Neue Weltmacht - Tanz Ins Glück
02. Christian Kneisel - Nähe Und Distanz
03. Silberstreif - Ich Suche Dein Gesicht
04. Lieferschein - Leben Auf Dem Müll
05. 4712 - Steig Den Luis Trenker
06. Plastiktanz - Mir Geht Es Danke Gut
07. Rolf Jungklaus - New Wave (Pseudo)
08. Vono - Fred Der Ritter
09. Kleenex Aktiv - Sternklare Nacht
10. Conrad + Gregor Schnitzler - Shark Eats Ice
11. Partner Eins - Warum Müssen Autos Fahren
12. Mark Montan - Alles Oder Nichts
13. "In" Seit - Nachtschwärmer (Album Version)
14. Mittageisen - Unverständnis
15. Die Synthetische Republik - Der Böse Osten
16. Casino Mariteam - Sage Nichts

Net Orders Checkout

Item Price Qty Total
Subtotal $0.00

Shipping Address

Shipping Methods