arrow-right cart chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up close menu minus play plus search share user email pinterest facebook instagram snapchat tumblr twitter vimeo youtube subscribe dogecoin dwolla forbrugsforeningen litecoin amazon_payments american_express bitcoin cirrus discover fancy interac jcb master paypal stripe visa diners_club dankort maestro trash

Flying Nun Records Music News




The news is written by a mysterious person. Maybe Wendy Broccoli.

In a post-internet era of short attention spans and jarring sonic changeability, the consistent tone and content of Auckland three-piece Street Chant is as refreshing as their songs are unsettling. Following a half-decade that’s seen them tour internationally in support of bands as acclaimed as The Lemonheads, The Dead Weather and The 3Ds, as well as multiple trips to SXSW, CMJ and Big Sound, the very-long- awaited release of second full-length Hauora on iconic New Zealand indie Flying Nunfinds the band picking up where their lauded, New Zealand Music Award-winning debut Means (2010, Arch Hill) left off.


Set to be released on 1 April 2016, Hauora is a compact, energised and complex set of songs plumbing the intriguing depths of the Urban New Zealand Condition in the early 21st century. From the Saturday night booze binges of Sink to the petty shared-house bleakness of Pedestrian Support League, the album explores in sardonic humour and hook-laden melodies the highs and woes of creative life in Auckland City.

Brooklyn Vegan hailed Hauora this morning, saying "There’s nary a dull moment in its 40-minute running time that swerves from punky rippers (including fantastic 2012 single Sink, the only oldie here) to janglier/scrappier fare...New single Insides is a good example of Street Chant’s sneery, snotty style, dropping Sylvia Plath references while jamming out power chords."

Hauora is that rarest of sophomore efforts; an album that continues a pre-existing trajectory without resorting to repetition or routine. Given that its name is taken from the Māori word for the four aspects of personal health – spiritual, physical, mental and social – it’s fitting that Hauora plays like an exorcism of sorts. There’s catharsis palpable throughout, while Emily Edrosa’s pervasive optimism and energetic wit brings the album’s intense energy full circle.

Though the band’s composition has gone through some changes since Means – while Edrosa and bassist Billie Rogers remain, drummer Alex Brown was replaced by Chris Varnham (Wilberforces) post-recording – their modus operandi remains progressive and active as ever. Over a choppily-strummed acoustic guitar, Edrosa closes the album  on ‘Hauora Forever’ by stating plainly, tongue ever-so-slightly in cheek, “If every day was a Sunday / I’d forget to be depressed”. It’s apparent that with the release of Hauora, Street Chant have little to be sad about.

Street Chant’s Hauora is to be released 1st April 2016 on Flying Nun. The band are taking their new songs on the road to celebrate Hauora's release this April. See below for dates.

Pre-order the vinyl of Hauora here


  • March 29 - Nivara, Hamilton
  • April 1 - The Manor, Auckland (limited entry)
  • April 2 - Golden Dawn, Auckland
  • April 8 - Caroline, Wellington 
  • April 9 - Great Job, Palmerston North
  • April 15th - The Crown, Dunedin
  • April 16th - Darkroom, Christchurch
  • April 29 - Kings Arms, Auckland


Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

Net Orders Checkout

Item Price Qty Total
Subtotal $0.00

Shipping Address

Shipping Methods