arrow-right cart chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up close menu minus play plus search share user email pinterest facebook instagram snapchat tumblr twitter vimeo youtube subscribe dogecoin dwolla forbrugsforeningen litecoin amazon_payments american_express bitcoin cirrus discover fancy interac jcb master paypal stripe visa diners_club dankort maestro trash
Massive Attack V. Mad Professor – Massive Attack V. Mad Professor Part II (Mezzanine Remix Tapes '98)
Regular price

Massive Attack V. Mad Professor – Massive Attack V. Mad Professor Part II (Mezzanine Remix Tapes '98)

Unit price per

One can confidently assume that the legendary dub engineer Mad Professor was asked to remix Mezzanine, the third Massive Attack album, off the back of the runaway success of 1995's No Protection. That LP, which featured dub versions of tracks from Massive Attack's second full-length, Protection, sold more than a million copies, becoming "one of the best-selling dub albums ever," according to Mad Professor, real name Neil Fraser. What's more difficult to ascertain, though, is why the Mezzanine remix project, which was due to be released in 1998 alongside the album, was eventually shelved.

Last month, Massive Attack V Mad Professor Part II (Mezzanine Remix Tapes '98) was finally released as part of Mezzanine's 20th anniversary. Five of its eight tracks may already be familiar to diehard fans, having appeared on various 12-inches and compilations before and after Mezzanine's original release. (Another track, "Risingson (Setting Sun Dub 2)," was uploaded anonymously to launch the band's Myspace page in 2007.) Still, it's the first time they've all been available in the same place, both digitally and on vinyl. This is a great thing—like No Protection, Part II is a fantastic record, presenting fresh, cosmic versions of classics and lesser-known tracks.  


01. Metal Banshee (Mad Professor Mix 1)
02. Angel (Angel Dust)
03. Teardrop (Mazaruni Dub 1)
04. Inertia Creeps (Floating On Dubwise)
05. Risingson (Setting Sun Dub 2)
06. Exchange (Mountain Steppers Dub)
07. Wire (Leaping Dub)
08. Group Four (Security Forces Dub)


Release Date: 20 September 2019


Net Orders Checkout

Item Price Qty Total
Subtotal $0.00

Shipping Address

Shipping Methods