arrow-right cart chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up close menu minus play plus search share user email pinterest facebook instagram snapchat tumblr twitter vimeo youtube subscribe dogecoin dwolla forbrugsforeningen litecoin amazon_payments american_express bitcoin cirrus discover fancy interac jcb master paypal stripe visa diners_club dankort maestro trash
Ryuichi Sakamoto - Hidari Ude No Yume  (Japanese Edition) (Reissue)
Regular price

Ryuichi Sakamoto - Hidari Ude No Yume (Japanese Edition) (Reissue)

Unit price per

Ryuichi Sakamoto’s third solo album “Hidari Ude No Yume” (Left Handed Dream), originally released in 1981 on the Alfa label. Save for a small-scale Dutch vinyl release in 1981, it is the first time the album’s original Japanese edition is released outside of Japan (the European release on Epic Records included significantly different tracks and mixes).

The album came after “B-2 Unit” in 1980 and his debut album “Thousand Knives Of” in 1978, the very year Sakamoto was invited by Haruomi Hosono to join Yellow Magic Orchestra alongside Yukihiro Takahashi. In the process, they became global stars as the group rewrote the rules of electronic pop and toured around the world, yet Sakamoto was keen to remain active as a solo artist.

In 1981, the musician decided to record an album rooted in Pop, following “B-2 Unit” which had a more of an experimental edge and his landmark electro debut from 1978. For this new album, Sakamoto invited British producer Robin Scott, who had had huge hit with ‘Pop Muzik,’ to co-produce. They entered the Alfa studio in July 1981, accompanied by a handful of musicians. These included his fellow YMO musicians Haruomi Hosono and Yukihiro Takahashi, keyboard programmer extraordinaire Hideki Matsutake who’d been on Sakamoto’s first two albums and became YMO’s unofficial fourth member, violinist Kaoru Sato, saxophonist Satoshi Nakamura and American guitarist Adrian Belew who’d played with David Bowie, The Talking Heads’ “Remain In Light” and more recently, Tom Tom Club’s debut (co-writing ‘Genius Of Love’).

Together, they created a fascinating mix of pop, ambient and electronic music with elements of avant garde and traditional Japanese music, the whole firmly rooted in a solid groove. Sakamoto wanted to give the album a spontaneous feel and decided to let ideas flow and evolve organically during the sessions as musicians would develop them together. From the funk of ‘Relâché’ to the new wave feel of ‘Venezia’ and the ambient minimalism of ‘Slat Dance,’ the album is remarkably consistent while displaying a wealth of global influences as shown by the diversity of instruments featured on the credits: Marimba, didgeridu, traditional Japanese instruments such as the Sho and Hichiriki flutes.

Newly remastered from the original tapes by renowned engineer Bernie Grundman, this LP edition comes with original artwork featuring a striking cover shot by famous photographer Masayoshi Sukita (sourced from the original negative), OBI strip and 4-page insert with new introduction.


1. Boku No Kakera
2. Saru To Yuki To Gomi No Kodomo
3. Kacha Kucha Nee
4. The Garden Of Poppies
5. Relâché
6. Tell ‘Em To Me
7. Living In The Dark
8. Slat Dance
9. Venezia
10. Saru No Ie
11. Boku No Kakera (Inst Mix)
12. Saru To Yuki To Gomi No Kodomo (Inst Mix)
13. Kacha Kucha Nee (Inst Mix)
14. The Garden of Poppies (Inst Mix)
15. Relâché (Inst Mix)
16. Tell’em To Me (Inst Mix)
17. Living In The Dark (Inst Mix)
18. Slat Dance (Inst Mix)
19. Venezia (Inst Mix)
20. Saru No Ie (Inst Mix)


Net Orders Checkout

Item Price Qty Total
Subtotal $0.00

Shipping Address

Shipping Methods